Assessment | Short Takes

Brief: NAGB Board Members Named

Six members have been named to the National Assessment Governing Board, the organization that oversees and sets policies for the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP). Five of the members are new to the board, while the six member, David P. Driscoll, will return as chairman for his second term.

NAEP is an ongoing program whose aim is to measure academic achievement trends across a wide variety of disciplines.

New members who will serve four-year terms on NAGB include: Shannon Garrison, a fourth-grade teacher at Solano Avenue Elementary School in Los Angeles; Brent Houston, principal at Shawnee Middle School in Shawnee, OK; Hector Ibarra, an eighth-grade teacher at West Branch Middle School in Iowa City, IA; Jack Markell, governor of Delaware; and Blair Taylor, president and CEO of the Los Angeles Urban League.

Driscoll, a former commissioner of education in Massachusetts, was appointed to the board in 2006. All of the members began their terms Nov. 16.

About the Author

David Nagel is the executive producer for 1105 Media's online K-12 and higher education publications and electronic newsletters. He can be reached at He can now be followed on Twitter at (K-12) or (higher education). You can also connect with him on LinkedIn at

comments powered by Disqus

White Papers:

  • Creating Magic in the Classroom PDF Screenshot

    Download this informative Executive Summary from an exclusive event aimed to provide educators, administrators and IT leaders with practical tools for integrating technology into the classroom. Read more...