Sylvia Charp Recognized Among Educational Technology Pioneers

To celebrate the National Educational Computing Conference's (NECC) 20th anniversary, a select group of NECC Pioneers and Leaders were honored. These are educators from all levels who have been a part of bringing educational technology to schools and universities across the country.

Among the educational pioneers honored was T.H.E. Journal's own Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Sylvia Charp. Her dedication to educational technology over the years is very well known and we would like to congratulate Dr. Charp on receiving this prestigious award.

Other pioneers honored include: Alfred Bork, Ludwig Braun, Marjorie Cappo, Jan Davidson, Wallace Feurzeig, Leroy Finkel, Roberta Goodson, Harvey Long, Arthur Luehrmann, Andrew Molnar, Dave Moursund, Seymour Papert, Al Rogers, Tom Snyder, Elliott Soloway, Patrick Suppes, David Thornburg, Robert Tinker and Frank Withrow.

NECC Leaders honored include: Richard Austing, Anita Best, David Brittain, Gerald Engel, Steve Gilbert, Diana Harris, James Kerlin, John Lawson, Jesse Lewis, Doris Lidtke, Dave Moursund, Mike Mulder, Cathleen Norris, Jim Poirot, Nancy Roberts, Ted Sj'erdsma and J'e Turner.

For more information on NECC or the awards, check out

This article originally appeared in the 08/01/1999 issue of THE Journal.