Advocacy | News

National Association of Secondary School Principals Names New President

The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) has selected a new president, Eudora High School Principal G.A. Buie. The Kansas principal formally assumed the role July 1 after serving as president-elect of the 20,000-member professional organization for the 2013-2014 school year.

"As president-elect this past year, G.A. has been a strong advocate for the needs of secondary schools and their leaders and students and has been a vital contributor to numerous NASSP projects including our strategic plan," said NASSP Executive Director JoAnn Bartoletti, in a prepared statement. "We look forward to G.A.'s continued leadership and know he is the right person to unite all our stakeholders and ensure the voice of the school leader is heard on the federal level. NASSP's mission is to connect and engage school leaders through advocacy, research, education and student programs, and I know G.A. is committed to this mission."

Buie has been the principal at Eudora since 2010. Previsously, he was principal at Wheatridge Middle School for three years and at Anderson County Jr./Sr. High School for nearly a decade, as well as assistant principal at Fredonia High School for two years. "A member of the Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals (KASSP), Buie served KASSP as an officer in all capacities, including president and state coordinator," according to a news release. "He also served on NASSP's board of directors, on its finance and audit committee and as a delegate to the National Leadership Conference."

"We have to do a better job of telling our story, sharing the positives happening every day in schools across our great nation" Buie said in a prepared statement. "By strengthening bonds and building new relationships we can help put educational decisions back in the hands of the experts and not a misinformed public, together, we can become a stronger voice than the opposition."

About the Author

Joshua Bolkan is contributing editor for Campus Technology, THE Journal and STEAM Universe. He can be reached at [email protected].

THE News Update

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.