2009 School Innovation Award Winners Announced

At the 2009 National Educational Computer Conference (NECC) in Washington, DC, Adobe announced the winners of the 2009 Adobe School Innovation Awards.

The School Innovation Awards program is a competition in which high school students in accredited private and public schools can submit creative projects to win prizes that include various Adobe software packages. For the program, students submit projects in one of three categories: video, print, or Web. The projects focused on the theme for this year's competition: "The World is Your Stage."

In the Film and Video category, the winners were Michael Hoff and Tim Jacob from Bellarmine College Preparatory School in San Jose, CA, for "Beating the Unbeatable: Joe Wise."

In the Graphic and Print Design category, the winner was Braighton Polack from Abbotsford Traditional Secondary School in Abbotsford, British Columbia, for "Simulation Sixty-Seven."

And Xizi Chen, Elizabeth Carp, Stephanie Yang, and Qiuling Zakaroff of Bergen County Academies in Hackensack, NJ took the Web Design and Development category for "The MANNIS Project--Jens' Adventure." They also won for "Best of the Best" and will receive Adobe software for themselves and their school, including a 30-seat site license of Adobe Creative Suite 4 Master Collection.

Next year's competition will open in the fall. Further information about the Adobe School Innovation Awards can be found here.

About the Author

David Nagel is the former editorial director of 1105 Media's Education Group and editor-in-chief of THE Journal, STEAM Universe, and Spaces4Learning. A 30-year publishing veteran, Nagel has led or contributed to dozens of technology, art, marketing, media, and business publications.

He can be reached at [email protected]. You can also connect with him on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/in/davidrnagel/ .