Digital Equity

34 Title I Schools Nationwide to Join Verizon Innovative Learning Program

Through a partnership between Verizon and Digital Promise, 34 Title I schools will join Verizon's 2024-25 Innovative Learning Schools (ILS) program to provide technology, internet access, and professional development as part of its Citizen Verizon initiative.

Students at select middle and high schools from 13 districts across the country will receive internet-connected tablets or laptops, and teachers will get professional development and community building activities to help promote digital equity, according to a release.

While Title I schools with a 65% or higher free and reduced-price lunch program population are eligible for this program, 78% of students in the 34 schools in this coming year's cohort qualify, the release said.

In addition to devices for students and professional development for teachers, schools will receive a subsidy for a full-time technology coach to help teachers integrate technology into their classrooms.

Verizon reported that 82% of ILS teachers said the program had helped them with teaching, and 77% felt it had increased student engagement.

The 34 schools joining the ILS program this fall are:

  • Albuquerque School of Excellence (NM): Albuquerque School of Excellence;
  • Duquesne City School District (PA): Duquesne Junior-Senior High School;
  • Englewood Public School District (NJ): Dwight Morrow High School; Janis Dismus Middle School;
  • Frontier Schools (MO): Frontier School of Excellence; Frontier School of Innovation; Frontier STEM High School;
  • Greenfield Union School District (CA): Vista Verde Middle School;
  • Helix Community Schools (LA): Helix Aviation Academy; Helix Legal Academy; Helix Mentorship STEAM Academy;
  • Hudson City School District (NY): Hudson Junior High School; Hudson Senior High School;
  • Kansas City Public Schools (MO): African-Centered College Preparatory Academy; East High School; Kansas City Virtual Academy; Lincoln College Preparatory Academy; Northeast High School; Northeast Middle School;
  • Miami-Dade County Public Schools (FL): Henry H. Filer Middle School; Horace Mann Middle School; Kinloch Park Middle School; Miami Springs Middle School; Palm Springs Middle School;
  • Napa County Office of Education (CA): Camille Creek Community School;
  • Norwalk Public Schools (CT): Brien McMahon High School; Center for Global Studies; Norwalk High School; P-Tech Norwalk; Roton Middle School;
  • Rahway Public Schools (NJ): Rahway 7th and 8th Grade Academy; Rahway High School; and
  • Whitehall City School District (OH): Rosemore Middle School; Whitehall-Yearling High School.

For more information, visit the Innovative Learning Schools page.

About the Author

Kate Lucariello is a former newspaper editor, EAST Lab high school teacher and college English teacher.