Independent and Distance Learning Awards Announced

The Charles A. Wedemeyer Award and the Elizabeth Powell Award both recognize publications of unusual merit that make sig- nificant contributions to research in independent and distance education. Submissions for the awards are requested; the deadline is January 16, 1996. Publications eligible for the Wedemeyer Award are books, theses and dissertations; those eligible for the Powell Award are published articles or written versions of papers presented at professional meetings or conferences. To be eligible, publications must have been published during 1995. Awards will be presented in March-April, 1996, at the NUCEA conference in Boston. Contact Dr. Evan Smith, Center for Independent Study, University of Missouri, Columbia, (314) 882-3717.

This article originally appeared in the 12/01/1995 issue of THE Journal.