Appointments | News

SETDA Announces New Board Members

The State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) has announced the formation of its 2012-13 board of directors and officers.

Newly elected board members Peter Drescher and Neill Kimrey have joined the board after several years of active participation in SETDA committees and projects. Drescher is education technology coordinator at the Vermont Department of Education. Kimrey is the director of instructional technology at the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.

David Walddon, currently an education technology consultant, was elected as the Emeritus Board member after being appointed by the Board to fill a mid-term board vacancy.

The new board is comprised of:

  • Jeff Mao (Maine), Chair
  • Melinda Stanley (Kansas), Vice Chair
  • Cathy Poplin, (Arizona), Treasurer
  • Rick Gaisford (Utah), Secretary
  • Larry Cocco (New Jersey)
  • Peter Drescher (Vermont)
  • Karen Kahan (Texas)
  • Neill Kimrey (North Carolina)
  • David Walddon (Emeritus)

“SETDA is privileged to have such strong leadership to help guide the direction of the organization as we move into our second decade more energized than ever,” said Douglas Levin, SETDA executive director in a statement. “States sit at the fulcrum of change as education moves from the world of print to digital. The SETDA Board and membership are dedicated to helping advance school improvement and reform efforts forward to ensure all students graduate college and career ready.”

SETDA is a national member association that supports education technology leaders from the state level.

About the Author

Stephen Noonoo is an education technology journalist based in Los Angeles. He is on Twitter @stephenoonoo.