Moto Grants Fuel STEM Education, STEM Equity


The Motorola Foundation has announced the recipients of its Innovation Generation Grants, a $3.5 million ed tech initiative designed to "inspire young people to embrace science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM)." For this year's grants, 106 programs were selected to receive funding, with recipients ranging from curriculum developers to museums and science centers to universities and K-12 schools.

Moto's Innovation Generation Grants aim to fund programs for young learners that use "innovative approaches to develop interest in technology-related fields while strengthening leadership and problem-solving skills." They also target programs that promote STEM equity, encouraging girls and members of groups that are traditionally underrepresented in sciences to pursue further study in STEM subjects.

According to the foundation, of those programs selected for this year's grants, 31 percent were aimed specifically at girls; 41 percent targeted black students; and 19 percent reach Hispanic students.

Some academic institutions receiving grants this year included:

  • Arrowhead Elementary School;
  • University of Arizona;
  • Benjamin Banneker Academic High School;
  • Cornell University (two awards);
  • DePaul University;
  • Fairfield University;
  • The School District of Hatboro-Horsham;
  • Hillside NewTech High School;
  • University of Illinois at Chicago (two awards);
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Colorado, Boulder;
  • Lake Anne Elementary School;
  • University of Massachusetts;
  • Miami Dade College Kendall Campus;
  • Michigan State University (two awards);
  • North Lawndale College Preparatory Charter High School;
  • University of North Texas;
  • Northwestern University;
  • Patrick Henry Elementary;
  • University of Pittsburgh;
  • Purdue University;
  • Smith College; and
  • Stony Point High School.

The application process for the 2008 grant program will begin in early 2008. Further information, including a complete list of the recipients of the 2007 grants, along with the programs to be funded, can be found at the links below.

Read More:


About the author: David Nagel is the executive editor for 1105 Media's online education technology publications, including THE Journal and Campus Technology. He can be reached at [email protected].

Proposals for articles and tips for news stories, as well as questions and comments about this publication, should be submitted to David Nagel, executive editor, at [email protected].

About the Author

David Nagel is the former editorial director of 1105 Media's Education Group and editor-in-chief of THE Journal, STEAM Universe, and Spaces4Learning. A 30-year publishing veteran, Nagel has led or contributed to dozens of technology, art, marketing, media, and business publications.

He can be reached at [email protected]. You can also connect with him on LinkedIn at .