Barbara Chamberlin is an assistant professor, as well as the Extension instructional design and educational media specialist, at New Mexico State University’s College of Agriculture and Home Economics. E-mail:

Dr. Chris Dede is the Timothy E. Wirth Professor of Learning Technologies at Harvard’s Graduate School of Education, as well as Chair of the Learning & Technology Area in the school. He also serves on T.H.E. Journal ’s Editorial Advisory Board. E-mail:

Jayne W. Edge is vice president of strategic planning and marketing for Datatel Inc. E-mail:

Sara Fitzgerald is V.P. of communications for Funds For Learning LLC. She served on the Schools and Libraries Division’s Task Force on the Prevention of Waste, Fraud and Abuse, which was convened in the summer of 2003. E-mail:

Mark Hofer is an assistant professor in instructional technology in the Towson University College of Education in Maryland. He is a former high school social studies teacher, as well as school and district technology coordinator. E-mail:

Chris Rother is CDW Government Inc.’s vice president of education, state and local sales. E-mail:

Tammy P. Scot is a doctoral candidate at the University of Virginia and a fellow at its Center for Technology and Teacher Education. She also works as a technology resource teacher for Albemarle County Public Schools. E-mail:

Rick Shearer is assistant director of instructional design and development at Penn State World Campus. E-mail:

Glenn Small is assistant director of The Johns Hopkins University’s Office of News and Information. E-mail:

This article originally appeared in the 10/01/2004 issue of THE Journal.

THE News Update

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.