Pennsylvania Educator Named National Science Teachers Association President-Elect

The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the largest professional organization promoting excellence in science teaching and learning, recently appointed Dr. Christine Anne Royce as the president-elect for the organization.

Image: Business Wire.

Royce was appointed June 1, according to a news release, and will assume her post as president June 1, 2018. A longtime educator, Royce has worked as a professor in the teacher education department at Shippensburg University in Pennsylvania since 2002. She also serves as the co-director for the university’s Master of Arts in Teaching STEM Education program. Prior to the position, Royce was an adjunct faculty member at the University of Scranton.

At the K–12 level, she has spent approximately 12 years in the classroom (1991-2002) — teaching second grade at St. Hedwig’s School in Chester, PA, as well as high school and middle school math and science. Royce was the academic dean for Bishop Hannan High School for seven years.

She is actively involved in a number of state and national STEM initiatives, including the Pennsylvania Science Teachers Association, the National Science Education Leadership Association, the National Science Foundation, and has won many accolades for her work. She received her Ed.D. in science education from Temple University.   

The National Science Teachers Association currently has more than 55,000 members involved in science education at the university and K–12 levels. Learn more on the organization's site.