NECC 2009 News

SETDA Names New Directors, Officers

The State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) this week announced the new makeup of its board of directors and officers. The announcement was made at the National Education Computing Conference (NECC) held this week in Washington, DC.

SETDA is the association representing state directors of educational technology. It's focused largely on education technology advocacy and has taken an active role in promoting a number education technology issues at the national level. It also provides professional development and other services for members as well.

The new board of directors membership for 2009 includes:

  • Wayne Hartschuh (Delaware), chair;
  • Jeff Mao (Maine), vice chair;
  • Karen Kahan (Texas), secretary;
  • Cathy Poplin (Arizona), treasurer;
  • Jayne Moore (Maryland);
  • Lan Neugent (Virginia);
  • John O'Connell (Iowa); and
  • Bruce Umpstead (Michigan).

THE Journal's own Geoff Fletcher was once again elected as an emeritus board member. Fletcher is currently editorial director of 1105 Media's Education Group, which includes the education technology publications THE Journal and Campus Technology, and which organizes and hosts events like FETC and the Campus Technology conferences. He was previously with the Texas Education Agency.

Further information about SETDA can be found here.

About the Author

David Nagel is the former editorial director of 1105 Media's Education Group and editor-in-chief of THE Journal, STEAM Universe, and Spaces4Learning. A 30-year publishing veteran, Nagel has led or contributed to dozens of technology, art, marketing, media, and business publications.

He can be reached at [email protected]. You can also connect with him on LinkedIn at .