Associations | News

SETDA Names 2013–2014 Board Members

The State Educational Technology Directors Association, a national ed tech advocacy group based in Maryland, has announced its new board of directors for the coming year.

The 2013-2014 board will be chaired by Melinda Stanley from the Kansas State Department of Education.

A newly created position, "chair-elect," will be held by Neill Kimrey of the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. The chair-elect position was created in an effort to "ensure leadership continuity and create a clear succession path on the Board, and came as a result of the passage of a refresh of SETDA's by-laws by the membership at the association's annual convocation and business meeting," according to SETDA.

Cathy Poplin of the Arizona Department of Education has been named treasurer.

Peter Drescher of the Vermont Department of Education has been named secretary.

Other 2013–2014 board members include:

"A hallmark of SETDA's strength is its commitment to state leadership in education," stated Douglas Levin, SETDA executive director, in a prepared statement. "The SETDA Board of Directors is excited to work with state and national leaders to advance school improvement and reform efforts in the states through the implementation of smart technology policy and practice."

The SETDA Leadership Summit will be held Nov. 3–6 in Arlington, VA. Additional details can be found on SETDA's event site.

About the Author

David Nagel is editorial director of 1105 Media's Education Technology Group and editor-in-chief of THE Journal and STEAM Universe. A 25-year publishing veteran, Nagel has led or contributed to dozens of technology, art and business publications.

He can be reached at You can also connect with him on LinkedIn at or follow him on Twitter at @THEJournalDave (K-12) or @CampusTechDave (higher education).

THE News Update

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.